مدفوعات التحويل الشخصية والناتج المحلي الإجمالي

يتم تحديد إيصالات الدفع بشكل جيد من قبل BEA (مكتب التحليل الاقتصادي، وزارة التجارة الأمريكية):

إيصالات التحويل الحالية الشخصية هي مزايا يتلقاها الأشخاص الذين لا يتم تقديم خدمات حالية لهم. إنها مدفوعات من الحكومات والشركات للأفراد والمؤسسات غير الربحية التي تخدم الأفراد.  شكلت عائدات التحويل 15 في المائة من إجمالي الدخل الشخصي على المستوى الوطني في عام 2008.

وشكلت إيصالات التحويل الحالية للأفراد من الشركات 1 في المائة من إجمالي إيصالات التحويل على المستوى الوطني في عام 2008. وتتألف هذه المتحصلات بشكل أساسي من مدفوعات المسؤولية عن الإصابات الشخصية للأفراد بخلاف الموظفين.

مدفوعات التحويل الشخصي هي في الأساس عملية تحويل ثروة من أولئك الذين يتم تعويضهم بشكل جيد إلى أولئك الذين يحصلون على تعويض أقل.  هناك بعض المتطلبات التي يعمل بها المستفيدون (على سبيل المثال ، ائتمان ضريبة الدخل المكتسب لأصحاب الأجور على مستوى الفقر) ، وأن المستفيدين قد عملوا في الماضي (على سبيل المثال ، مزايا تقاعد الضمان الاجتماعي وإعانات البطالة). التحويلات الأخرى ليس لها متطلبات عمل على الإطلاق ، على سبيل المثال قسائم الطعام. ما إذا كانت مدفوعات التحويل الشخصية مرغوبة أم لا قد تمت مناقشتها على نطاق واسع. إنه موضوع لمجلة افتتاحية ولن يتم تناوله هنا. بدلاً من ذلك ، سنقوم بتحليل كيف أثرت مدفوعات التحويل الشخصية (بشكل أكثر تحديدًا في المدفوعات) على مسار الركود العظيم والانتعاش.

سنستخدم الناتج المحلي الإجمالي كمقياس لكيفية تأثير مدفوعات التحويل الشخصية على الاقتصاد. سيقول بعض القراء المطلعين: "انتظر! من المعروف أن مدفوعات التحويل الشخصية ليست مدرجة في الناتج المحلي الإجمالي ". هذا صحيح ، ولكن عندما ينفق المستفيدون هذه المدفوعات على السلع والخدمات ، يزداد الناتج المحلي الإجمالي. ويتم إنفاق معظم إيصالات الدفع بالتحويلات الشخصية فورًا على السلع والخدمات.  

يمكن الحصول على بعض الاستنتاجات المثيرة للاهتمام من بعض البيانات المقدمة من قبل مخاطرة محسوبة. أولاً ، نرى أن نفقات الاستهلاك الشخصي الحقيقية قد تجاوزت مستويات ما قبل الركود:

انقر على الرسم البياني للصورة الأكبر.

بعد ذلك ، نرى أن الدخل الشخصي ناقص مدفوعات التحويل لا يزال 4.5٪ أقل من الذروة السابقة. نحن في مستويات أدنى بكثير من أي شيء آخر شهدناه في الخمسين عامًا الماضية ، باستثناء قاع الركود 50-1973:

انقر على الرسم البياني للحصول على صورة أكبر.

السؤال الأول الواضح هو ما إذا كان الائتمان الاستهلاكي الموسع قد أدى إلى عودة الإنفاق الاستهلاكي. يوضح الرسم البياني التالي الانكماش المستمر للائتمان الاستهلاكي. من الواضح أن انخفاض الائتمان لا يغذي الارتفاع في الإنفاق الاستهلاكي الشخصي.

نظرًا لأن الدخل الشخصي أقل مدفوعات التحويل متخلفة ، فلنلقِ نظرة على التاريخ الحديث لمدفوعات التحويل. 

في الوقت الحالي ، يبدو أن مدفوعات التحويل تزيد بنحو 250 مليار دولار (مبالغ سنوية) عما كان يمكن أن تكون عليه إذا تم الحفاظ على مسار ما قبل الركود.

بينما يُقال في كثير من الأحيان أن المستهلك يدعم التعافي في الناتج المحلي الإجمالي ، فإن الحكومة تقدم حقًا بعضًا من هذا الدعم ، عبر مدفوعات التحويل. لولا مدفوعات التحويل ، لكان الناتج المحلي الإجمالي أقل بنحو 250 مليار دولار في الربع الثالث من عام 3 وفي معظم عام 2010 والنصف الثاني من عام 2010. كانت هناك زيادة طفيفة في الربع الأول من عام 2009 إلى حوالي 1 مليار دولار وطفرة في مدفوعات التحويل في الربع الثاني / 2010 إلى حوالي 270 مليار دولار فوق خط الاتجاه. في الربع الأول من عام 2 ، حصل الناتج المحلي الإجمالي على دفعة بنحو 2009 مليار دولار من مدفوعات التحويل "الإضافية". كل ما سبق عبارة عن مبالغ سنوية - إيصالات مدفوعات التحويل الشخصي "الإضافية" المتراكمة لعام 300 المقدرة حتى نهاية عام 1 تبلغ حوالي 2009 مليار دولار. يأتي هذا من 150 مليار دولار في عام 2008 ، و 2010 مليار دولار في عام 569 ، و 87 مليار دولار في عام 2008.  

إذا تم طرح مدفوعات التحويل "الإضافية" المقدرة من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي ، يتم تغيير معدلات النمو ربع السنوية للناتج المحلي الإجمالي. يتم عرض النتيجة في الرسم البياني التالي.

تم رسم التغيرات التراكمية للناتج المحلي الإجمالي بدءًا من الربع الأول من عام 1 في الرسم البياني التالي. يتم مقارنة الناتج المحلي الإجمالي الحقيقي المسجل مع الناتج المحلي الإجمالي المقدر في حالة عدم سداد مدفوعات التحويل "الزائدة". هناك افتراضات هنا:

1. المدفوعات التحويلية لها مضاعف 1.

2. لا توجد عوامل خارجية كان من شأنها أن تؤثر على الناتج المحلي الإجمالي بشكل مختلف بدون مدفوعات التحويل.

يبدو الافتراض الأول معقولاً. وجاء الجزء الأكبر من "الفائض" من زيادة قسائم الطعام وإعانات البطالة الموسعة والتخفيضات الضريبية وخفض ضرائب الدخل الشخصي. هذه كلها يقدرها البعض أن يكون لها مضاعفات أكبر من 1 ، بعضها أكبر من ذلك بكثير. باستخدام أرقام CBO ، Menzie Chinn يشير إلى أن هناك مجموعة واسعة من الخلافات حول المضاعفات. على سبيل المثال ، تم الإبلاغ عن أن إعانات البطالة الممتدة لها مجموعة من المضاعفات من 0.8 إلى 1.9. من الواضح أن تحديد المضاعفات ليس عملية علمية.

الافتراض الثاني هو الافتراض الذي لا أجد أساسًا للدفاع عنه أو انتقاده. يجب أن تظل غير معروفة في هذا التحليل.

يبدو أن تأثير مدفوعات التحويل "الزائدة" يوسع قاع الركود ، مما يجعله أقل عمقًا. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، فإن التعافي من القاع يكون أكثر حدة ، مثل "V" ، في الحالة الافتراضية دون مدفوعات التحويل "الزائدة". ومع ذلك ، فإن الانتعاش اللاحق في الناتج المحلي الإجمالي يتبع مسارات متوازية بعد اكتمال الارتداد الأولي من القاع.

يمكن أن نستنتج أن الزيادة في مدفوعات التحويل الشخصية كانت فعالة في التخفيف من تأثير الركود ، وحتى الآن في الانتعاش ، وضعت الاقتصاد في وضع أفضل ، على الأقل كما يقاس بالناتج المحلي الإجمالي ، مما كان سيحدث لولا ذلك. ومع ذلك ، فقد كان لهذا ثمن. لقد تم زيادة الدين القومي بشكل أساسي بنفس المبلغ مثل مدفوعات التحويل الشخصي "الإضافية" ، أو 569 مليار دولار ، على مدى السنوات الثلاث 2008-2010.

8 ردود على "مدفوعات التحويل الشخصية والناتج المحلي الإجمالي"

  1. من الجيد أن ترى البيانات التي تدعم الفطرة السليمة والاعتقاد السائد على نطاق واسع أن إضافة الدخل إلى أدنى مستوى دخل يترجم مباشرة إلى زيادة الناتج المحلي الإجمالي بعامل واحد على الأقل ، لأن الفقراء ينفقون كل دخلهم على الاستهلاك. كان هذا افتراضًا قياسيًا ، أثبتته التجربة ، بين الاقتصاديين الكلاسيكيين الذين ناقشوا زيادة الأجور للطبقة العاملة ، ولا يزال الافتراض صحيحًا حتى اليوم. لن يستخدم المستفيدون من الإنفاق المتزايد جميع إيراداتهم وأرباحهم المتزايدة لسداد الديون وزيادة مدخراتهم ، لكنهم سيستخدمون بعض أو معظم الدخل المتزايد لزيادة مخزوناتهم وإنفاقهم الشخصي وإعادة استثمار الأموال بطريقة أخرى سيتم احتسابه مرة أخرى مع زيادة الناتج المحلي الإجمالي.

    الآن ، إذا كان من الممكن تمويل مدفوعات التحويل هذه من الحكومة إلى الأفراد بأموال التيسير الكمي المنخفضة للغاية أو بدون فائدة من الاحتياطي الفيدرالي ، على سبيل المثال عن طريق شراء سندات الخزانة بدون فائدة أو ديون البلدية ، فعندئذ في حين أن السندات الحكومية الجديدة ستفعل
    من الناحية الفنية ، فإن الفائدة المنخفضة جدًا إلى الصفرية ستجعل تلك الأموال الجديدة "مجانية" ، خاصةً إذا كان السند دائمًا (ليس له تاريخ استحقاق) أو طويل الأجل جدًا. تتمتع الحكومة بالسلطة الدستورية لإصدار النقد الوطني ، وهنا في النقطة النهائية لدورة الديون الفائقة بعد الكساد الكبير ، فإن إضافة أموال مجانية جديدة إلى الاقتصاد هي الطريقة العملية الوحيدة لتجنب ما أسماه فون ميزس "الحتمي" انهيار هيكل أسعار الديون المتضخم للاقتصاد ، وهو الحدث المعروف باسم الكساد الانكماشى الذي يؤدي إلى إفلاس كل من النظام المصرفي والاقتصاد. يرحب النمساويون بهذا الحدث لأنهم يعتقدون أن هيكل الأسعار المتضخم يحتاج إلى الانكماش وأن جميع الديون المعدومة يجب أن تتخلف عن السداد وشطبها ، مما يؤدي إلى التخلص من جميع الأسهم في النظام المصرفي معها. هذه في الواقع نسخة من يوبيل الديون وأنا أعترف أنه طالما نجح التخلف عن السداد الشامل في تدمير كل الأموال التي تم إنشاؤها عندما تم اقتراض الدين وإنفاقه لأول مرة ، فإن الانكماش الانكماشي قد يولد بالفعل تجديدًا اقتصاديًا مفيدًا مثل النمساويين. تخيل سيكون هذا هو الحال. ولكن في الواقع ، فقد خرج الكثير من الأموال من النظام المصرفي الذي أصدر الدين في الأصل والذي سيتم إطفاء رأس ماله ورأس ماله لتغطية خسائر القروض ، حيث تسربت جميع الأموال إلى نظام الظل المصرفي ، لدرجة أن الكساد من شأنه القضاء على البنوك العادية نظام يترك الاقتصاد مفتوحًا على مصراعيه للنهب من خلال نظام الظل المصرفي النسر. إذا تم تدمير الدين والمال في نفس الوقت ، فقد يكون الحل النمساوي خيارًا جيدًا. إذا تم تدمير الدين وانكمش هيكل الأسعار للاقتصاد ، لنفترض أن 20٪ من قيمته الحالية ، دون تدمير مجمعات الأموال التي يمكن أن تنقض وتشتري البلاد بخصم 80٪ ، فإن الحل النمساوي يعمل فقط على تسريع تيارنا الحالي. الاتجاه نحو إقطاع جديد يمتلكه ويديره الأثرياء.

  2. أ) يبدو المؤلف غير مرتاح لاكتشاف أن جمهوريتنا هي المصدر الاحتكاري لعملتنا؟

    ب) اكتشف المؤلف أن الإصدار العام لحسابات العملة الأمريكية بالدولار الأمريكي لكل وصول خاص إلى عملة الدولار الأمريكي؟

    ألم يتم تسوية هاتين المسألتين بالكامل بموجب دستور الولايات المتحدة ، وتم حلهما عمليًا بشكل جيد إلى حد ما قبل عام 1900 ، مع تسوية النقاط القليلة الماضية في عامي 1933 و 1973؟

    نظرًا لأن السكان يتمتعون بقدرة غير محدودة على متابعة المبادرات العامة ، بما في ذلك إنشاء عملة جديدة ، فسيكون لدى الجمهور دائمًا القدرة على التغلب على مجمعات عملات الظل التي يخشى الاقتصاديون النمساويون. إذا كنا لا نزال على مستوى قياسي من الذهب ، فإن مستويات المعروض من العملات ستنخفض إلى نزوة اكتناز الذهب بدلاً من مقاييس أخرى للأغراض العامة. في هذه الحالة ، يبدو أن الاقتصاد النمساوي صامد. نظرًا لأننا لم نعد نتعامل مع تجارة الذهب التي يفضلها الأثرياء ، فإن نتائجنا تعتمد ، كالعادة ، على الاستخدام الذكي للمبادرة العامة.

    ملاحظة: بالنظر إلى العملة الورقية ، ما الذي يثير القلق بشأن الديون الإلزامية؟ يمكن إزالة أي دين فيات بضغطة زر من جهة الإصدار الاحتكارية. يبدو أن النظير الوحيد المتبقي لمجمعات عملات الظل يعتمد على قدرة الإرهابيين الذين يعانون من العجز في إقناع السكان بالحد بشكل تعسفي من إمدادات العملة التعسفية والفورية. هل سيكون من المفاجئ أن يشكل المصرفيون والمليارديرات الاستثماريون أنفسهم أكبر وأنشط تجمع للإرهابيين الذين يعانون من العجز؟ إن أي شخص يدعو إلى فرض قيود تعسفية على الإنفاق العام هو بحكم التعريف يدعو إلى فرض قيود تعسفية على المبادرة العامة. لهذا السبب فإنني لا أثق في بعض ، إن لم يكن كل ، من عجز الإرهابيين أنفسهم.

    تستدعي مسألة العرض المتكيف للعملات اتخاذ تدابير منطقية عميقة للأغراض العامة ، والرفاهية العامة للسكان ، والأمن القومي والقدرات الوطنية. لا يساعد القلق بشأن الحجم المطلق لإنشاء العملة ونمو المعروض منها أكثر من القلق بشأن الحجم المطلق للنمو السكاني أو النمو التكنولوجي أو النشاط الاقتصادي أو معدلات معاملات المجموع. إنها جميعًا متغيرات تابعة تمامًا وليس لها معنى بصرف النظر عن السياق الناشئ.

  3. حاضر - - -

    تحية موسمية!

    أعتقد أن العديد من الحجج التي تقدمها معقولة. ومع ذلك ، لم أكن أستكشف طبيعة الديون في نظام العملات الورقية. كنت أبحث عن تفسير لارتفاع نفقات الاستهلاك الشخصي بشكل أسرع من الدخل المكتسب. أحد الأسباب هو زيادة المدفوعات التحويلية.

    لقد تراسلني أحد القراء ليقترح أن مصدرًا آخر للاستهلاك الإضافي يمكن أن يأتي من إعادة توجيه المدفوعات التي كانت تُدفع سابقًا على الديون التي تم التنازل عنها الآن ، وخاصة الرهون العقارية. في مكان ما في الصفحة 2 أو 3 من دفتر ملاحظاتي "الأشياء التي يجب النظر فيها" هو هذا السؤال فقط.

    إنني أنظر إلى الوضع على أنه سؤال يتعلق بتدفق الأموال للمستهلكين. قد أكون قد أضللتكم بشأن رسالتي عندما ذكرت جانباً أن مدفوعات التحويل الإضافية تتوافق مع زيادة في الدين الوطني بما يتجاوز ما كان عليه دون مدفوعات التحويل "الزائدة".

  4. بينغبك: ارسال حوالة

التعليقات مغلقة.

Personal Transfer Payments and GDP

Transfer payment receipts are defined well by the BEA (Bureau of Economic Analysis, U.S. Dept. of Commerce):

Personal current transfer receipts are benefits received by persons for which no current services are performed. They are payments by governments and businesses to individuals and nonprofit institutions serving individuals.  Transfer receipts accounted for 15 percent of total personal income at the national level in 2008.

Current transfer receipts of individuals from businesses accounted for 1 percent of total transfer receipts at the national level in 2008. These receipts consist primarily of personal-injury liability payments to individuals other than employees.

Personal transfer payments are essentially a wealth transfer process from those that are well compensated to those that are less well compensated.  There are some requirements that recipients work (Earned Income Tax Credit for poverty level wage earners, for example), and that recipients have worked in the past (Social Security Retirement Benefits and unemployment benefits, for examples).  Other transfers have no work requirement at all, food stamps for example.   Whether personal transfer payments are desirable or not has been widely debated.  It is a subject for an Op Ed and will not be addressed here.  Instead we will analyze how personal transfer payments (more specifically increases in the payments) have influenced the course of The Great Recession and the recovery.

We will use GDP as the measure of how personal transfer payments have influenced the economy.  Some knowledgeable readers are going to say: “Hold on!  It is well known that personal transfer payments are not included in GDP.”  That is correct, but when those payments are spent by recipients for goods and services GDP is increased.  And most personal transfer payment receipts are immediately spent on goods and services.  

Some interesting inferences can be obtained from some data presented by Calculated Risk.  First, we see that real personal consumption expenditures have exceeded pre-recession levels:

Click on graph fro larger image.

Next we see that personal income less transfer payments is still 4.5% below previous peak.  We are at levels far below anything else seen in the last 50 years, except for the bottom of the 1973-75 recession:

Click on graph for larger image.

The first obvious question is whether expanded consumer credit has led to the resurgence in consumer spending.  The following graph shows a continuous contraction of consumer credit.  Declining credit is obviously not fueling the rise in personal consumption spending.

Since personal income less transfer payments is lagging, let’s look at the recent history of transfer payments. 

Currently, transfer payments appear to be about $250 billion greater (annualized amounts) than what they would have been if the pre-recession trajectory had been maintained.

While it is often stated that the consumer is supporting the recovery in GDP, it is really the government providing some of that support, via transfer payments. Without the transfer payments, GDP would have been about $250 billion less in 3Q/2010 and for most of 2010 and the second half of 2009.  There was a small increase in 1Q/2010 to about $270 billion and a spike in transfer payments in 2Q/2009 to about $300 billion above the trend line.  In 1Q/2009 the GDP got a boost of about $150 billion of “extra” transfer payments.  All the above are annualized amounts – the accumulated “extra” personal transfer payment receipts for 2008 estimated through year end 2010 is approximately $569 billion.  This comes from $87 billion in 2008, $226 billion in 2009 and $256 billion in 2010.  

If the estimated “extra” transfer payments are subtracted from GDP the quarterly annual growth rates for GDP are changed.  The result is displayed in the following graph.

The cumulative GDP changes starting with 1Q/2008 are plotted in the following graph.  The real GDP of record is compared to the estimated GDP had the “excess” transfer payments not been made.  There are assumptions here:

1.  The transfer payments have a multiplier of 1.

2.  There are no externalities that would have influenced GDP differently without the transfer payments.

The first assumption seems reasonable. The bulk of the “excess” came from increased food stamps, extended unemployment benefits, tax rebates and reduced personal income taxes.  These are all estimated by some to have multipliers greater than 1, some very much greater.  Using CBO numbers, Menzie Chinn points out there is wide range of disagreement about multipliers.  For example, extended unemployment benefits are reported to have a range of multipliers from 0.8 to 1.9.  Establishing what the multipliers should be is obviously not a scientific process.

The second assumption is one I can find no basis to defend or criticize.  It will have to remain  largest unknown in this analysis.

The effect of the “excess” transfer payments appears to be broadening the bottom of the recession, making it less deep.  In addition, the recover from the bottom is sharper, more “V” like, in the hypothetical case without “excess” transfer payments.  However, the follow-on recovery in GDP follows parallel paths after the initial rebound from the bottom is complete.

It can be concluded that the increase in personal transfer payments was effective in softening the impact of the recession and has, so far in the recovery, put the economy on a better footing, at least as measured by GDP, than would otherwise have occurred.  However, this has come at a price.  The national debt has been increased by essentially the same amount as the “extra” personal transfer payments, or $569 billion, over the three years 2008-2010.

8 replies on “Personal Transfer Payments and GDP”

  1. It’s good to see the data supporting the common sense and widely held belief that adding to the incomes of the lowest income level translates directly into increased GDP by a factor of at least 1, because poor people spend all of their income on consumption. This was a standard assumption, proved by experience, among classical economists discussing wage increases for the working class, and the assumption still holds true today It is also common sense to assume the multiplier will be greater than 1, if we recognize that businesses who are the recipients of the increased spending will not use all of their increased revenue and profits to pay down debt and to increase their savings, but will use some or most of the increased income to increase their inventories and their personal spending and otherwise reinvest the money where it will get counted again as GDP increases.

    Now, if these transfer payments from government to individuals could be financed by very low or zero interest QE money from the Fed, for e.g. by buying zero interest Treasuries or municipal debt, then while the new government bonds would
    technically be adding to debt, the very low to zero interest would effectively make that new money “free”, especially if the bond were perpetual (no maturity date) or very long term maturity. The government has the constitutional authority to issue the national money, and here at the terminal point of our post Great Deppression debt supercycle, the addition of new free money into the economy is the only practical way of avoiding what Von Mises called the “inevitable” collapse of the debt inflated price structure of the economy, which event is better known as a deflationary depression that bankrupts both the banking system and the economy. Austrians welcome this event because they believe the inflated price structure needs to deflate and all the bad debt needs to be defaulted and written down, taking down all equity in the banking system along with it. This is actually a version of a debt Jubilee and I admit that as long as the mass default succeeds in destroying all the money that was created when the debt was first borrowed and spent, a deflationary depression might indeed generate a salutary economic renewal as the Austrians imagine will be the case. But in fact so much of the money has exited the banking system that originally issued the debt and whose equity and capital will be extinguished covering loan losses, all the money having escaped into the shadow banking system, that a depression would wipe out the normal banking system leaving the economy wide open to plunder by shadow banking vulture capital. If the debt and the money are destroyed at the same time then the Austrian solution might be a good option. If the debt is destroyed and the economy’s price structure deflates to let’s say 20% of it’s current values, without simultaneously destroying the pools of money that could swoop in and buy the country at an 80% discount, then the Austrian solution merely accelerates our current trend toward a new feudalism owned and operated by plutocrats.

  2. a) the author seems uncomfortable with the discovery that our republic is the monopoly issuer of our currency?

    b) the author discovers that public issuance of $US currency accounts for all private access to $US currency?

    Weren’t both those issues fully settled by the US Constitution, and fairly well worked out operationally pre-1900, with the last few blips ironed out in 1933 and 1973?

    Since the population has unlimited ability to pursue public initiative, including new currency creation, then public will always has the capacity to overcome the shadow currency pools feared by Austrian economists. If we were still on a gold std, currency supply levels would be yoked to the whim of gold-hoarding plutocrats instead of to other measures of public purpose. In that instance, Austrian economics would seem to hold. Since we’re no longer on a plutocrat-favoring gold std, our outcome depends, as usual, upon intelligent use of public initiative.

    ps: Given fiat currency, what’s so worrisome about fiat debt? Any fiat debt can be removed by a keystroke from the monopoly issuer. It would seem that the only remaining analog of shadow currency pools depends on the ability of deficit terrorists to convince a population to arbitrarily limit arbitrary and instantaneous currency supplies. Would it be any surprise that investment bankers & billionaires themselves constitute the biggest & most active pool of deficit terrorists? Anyone calling for arbitrary limits on public spending is by definition calling for arbitrary limits on public initiative. For that reason it is some, if not all, of the deficit terrorists themselves that I would distrust.

    The issue of adaptive currency supply calls for deeply reasoned measures of public purpose, general well being of the populous, national security & national capabilities. Worrying about the absolute magnitude of currency creation & currency supply growth helps no more than worrying about the absolute magnitude of population growth, technology growth, economic activity, or sum transaction rates. They are all fully dependent variables that have no meaning apart from emerging context.

  3. Roger – – –

    Season’s greetings!

    I believe that many of the arguments you present are reasonable. However, I wasn’t exploring the nature of debt in a fiat currency regime. I was looking for an explanation for personal consumption expenditures rising faster than earned income. One of the reasons is increased transfer payments.

    A reader has corresponded with me to suggest that another source of extra consumption could come from the redirection of payments formerly made on debt now forfeited, especially mortgages. Somewhere on page 2 or 3 of my “things to look into” notebook is just that question.

    I am looking at the situation as a flow of funds question for consumers. I may have mislead you about my thesis when I stated as an aside that the extra transfer payments corresponded to an increase in the national debt beyond what it woud have been without the “excess” transfer payments.

  4. Pingback: transfer payments

Comments are closed.