هل الجهل نعيم؟ نظرة على عدم المساواة في الدخل في الولايات المتحدة

المُقدّمة

في مقالي الأخير، لقد اقترحت ضرائب جديدة لسد عجز الحكومة الأمريكية. قلت أيضًا إن الوقت لم يحن بعد للتقشف: انتظر حتى يكتسب الانتعاش زخمًا. خططت للتركيز في هذا المقال على خطة أوباما لفرض ضرائب أعلى على الأثرياء. ومع ذلك ، لقد تعلمت للتو من مقالة ممتازة بقلم جي ويليام دومهوف أن معظم الأمريكيين ليس لديهم فكرة عن مدى تركيز توزيع الثروة في الولايات المتحدة في الواقع. لذا ستوفر هذه المقالة بيانات حول توزيع الدخل في الولايات المتحدة ، وسأناقش مقترحات أوباما الضريبية في مقالتي التالية.     

توزيع الدخل الأمريكي

التفاوتات في الدخل أكبر في الولايات المتحدة منها في البلدان المتقدمة الأخرى ، وكانت كذلك دائمًا. يعتقد الأمريكيون أنه يجب على المرء أن يحصل على "ثمار عمل المرء" ، مع القليل من الاهتمام لمقدار ذلك. الشعور مختلف جدا في مكان آخر. يقدم الجدول 1 "معاملات جيني" لمجموعة مختارة من البلدان المتقدمة. معامل جيني 0 يعني أن كل شخص يحصل على نفس الدخل ؛ يشير المعامل 1 إلى إجمالي عدم المساواة في الدخل. بالمقارنة مع البلدان المتقدمة الأخرى ، الدخل غير متكافئ في الولايات المتحدة.

إن التفاوتات في الدخل في الولايات المتحدة آخذة في الازدياد. وجد وولف أنه بينما زاد دخل جميع الأمريكيين بنسبة 37.1٪ منذ عام 1983 ، زادت مداخيل أعلى 1٪ بنسبة 127.2٪. تقارير دومهوف: "اعتبارًا من عام 2007 ، كان عدم المساواة في الدخل في الولايات المتحدة عند أعلى مستوى له على الإطلاق خلال الـ 95 عامًا الماضية ، حيث تلقى أعلى 0.01٪ - أي واحد بالمائة - 6٪ من جميع الأجور في الولايات المتحدة ، والتي ضعف ما كانت عليه بالنسبة لتلك الشريحة الصغيرة في عام 2000 ".

يمكن أن تكون الأرقام الإجمالية مربكة ، لذا في ما يلي ، أركز على المديرين التنفيذيين: الأفكار / رجال الأعمال التنفيذيين ، والموظفين والموظفين والمصرفيين.

فكرة / رجال الأعمال التنفيذيين

هؤلاء أشخاص لديهم أفكار عمل جيدة. أطلق العديد منهم شركاتهم الخاصة. إنه بالتأكيد في الثقافة الأمريكية أن هؤلاء الناس يستحقون كل "الغنائم" على المخاطر التي اتخذوها والجهود التي بذلوها على مر السنين. ولكن حتى هنا ، ربما يمكننا أن نرى ظلال أفضل وأسوأ. في الجدول 2 ، أدرج عددًا من هؤلاء الأشخاص. يعطي عمود التعويض الإجمالي الدفعة النقدية المستلمة في 2010. توفر الأعمدة الأربعة التالية بيانات عن الأصول التي استلمها الفرد من شركته. ويجمع العمود الأخير الأعمدة الخمسة السابقة.

ليس هناك الكثير مما يمكن الشكوى منه حول كيفية تعامل الثلاثة الأوائل مع الأمور. جوبز وبوفيه وبالمر لديهم 1.6 مليار دولار و 46.2 مليار دولار و 9.4 مليار دولار "في البنك". الوظائف هي الأفضل: راتبه هو دولار واحد سنويًا ، وذكرت صحيفة نيويورك تايمز أنه لم يقدم أي مطالبات أخرى بشأن شركة آبل - لا خيارات للأسهم ، ولا جوائز للأسهم ، ولا معاشات تقاعدية ، ولا تعويضات مؤجلة. يشبه Buffet و Balmer الوظائف في "لا توجد مطالبات أخرى" ، حيث يحصل بوفيه على راتب قدره 1 دولار بينما يحصل Balmer على 524,000 مليون دولار سنويًا. أعتقد أن نوردستروم وتيش وشولتز ، وكلهم يمتلكون أكثر من 1.4 مليون دولار في البنك ، قلقون قليلاً بشأن مواردهم المالية في التقاعد. لذا فهم يأخذون رواتب سنوية قدرها 100 مليون دولار و 4.3 مليون دولار و 5.1 مليون دولار على التوالي.

الثلاثة الأخيرة ، سميث وماريوت وإليسون ، وجميعهم من أصحاب المليارات ، يختلفون بالتأكيد عن جوبز وبوفيه وبالمر. إليسون في الفصل بمفرده.

الأيدي المستأجرة

دعونا ننظر الآن إلى "الأيدي المستأجرة". هؤلاء ليسوا أصحاب فكرة أو رواد أعمال. هؤلاء هم البيروقراطيون الذين تم جلبهم لإدارة الشركات التي أنشأها وبناها الآخرون. لماذا يجنون الكثير؟ هل هم أفضل من غيرهم بتكلفة أقل؟ لا ، يعمل "صيادو الرؤوس" بالتواطؤ مع مجالس إدارة الشركات. تخشى المجالس أن تتورط في المشاكل إذا حددت مواعيد لا تعمل. لذلك ، يقترح صيادو الرؤوس الأشخاص الذين كانوا رؤساء تنفيذيين لشركات كبيرة أخرى. وعندما يتعلق الأمر بالتعويض ، هل لاحظت أن 50٪ من معظم التقارير السنوية / وكلاء الشركات الكبيرة هي تقارير تعويضات تنفيذية مكتوبة بواسطة صائدي الرؤساء؟ وعندما يتم تعيين رؤساء تنفيذيين جدد ، فإنه يعين أعضاء مجلس إدارته ، إلخ.

هل تعتقد أنني أبالغ؟ يقتبس دومهوف إدغار إس وولارد جونيور ، الرئيس التنفيذي المتقاعد لشركة دوبونت والذي يشغل الآن منصب رئيس لجنة التعويضات التنفيذية ببورصة نيويورك: "تتحدث لجنة التعويضات [التابعة لمجلس الإدارة] إلى مستشار خارجي لديه استطلاعات رأي يمكنك قم بقيادة شاحنة وادفع أي شيء تريد أن تدفعه ، حتى تكون صادقًا تمامًا. يتحدث المستشار الخارجي إلى نائب رئيس الموارد البشرية الذي يتحدث إلى الرئيس التنفيذي. يقول المدير التنفيذي ما يود الحصول عليه. تصل إلى شخص الموارد البشرية الذي يخبر المستشار الخارجي. ومن الجيد جدًا أن يحصل الرئيس التنفيذي على ما يعتقد أنه يستحقه ، لذلك سيحظى باحترام أقرانه ".

ما ورد أعلاه هم موظفون مأجورون ، وجميعهم يحصلون على رواتب تبلغ 10 ملايين دولار + مع حوافز مبررة من قبل صائدي الرؤساء وموافقة مجالسهم. وما مدى جودة أداء هؤلاء السادة لشركاتهم؟ Weldon at Johnson & Johnson: كم عدد مشكلات مراقبة الجودة التي واجهوها في السنوات الأخيرة؟ ماكنيرني: أين "دريملاينر"؟ يشير العمود الأخير في الجدول 3 إلى ما سيكسبه هؤلاء الأفراد إذا كسبت أصولهم 5٪ سنويًا. 

المصرفيين

المجموعة الأخيرة التي أعتبرها هي المصرفيين ، الرؤساء التنفيذيين الذين يديرون البنوك التي انهارت بشكل فعال ، مما دفع العالم إلى الركود العالمي. كيف حالهم؟ يقدم الجدول 4 الجواب. الجدول هو نفسه الجدول السابق ولكنه يتضمن أموال إنقاذ TARP التي يحتاجها كل بنك باعتباره العمود الأيمن الأخير.

باستثناء بانديت[1]، لم يتغير شيء بالنسبة لهؤلاء المديرين التنفيذيين. انسَ كل الاستثمارات الحمقاء والمخاطرة التي أشرفوا عليها ، فقد قررت مجالس إدارتها دفع 10 ملايين دولار + لكل منهم مع المضي قدمًا في الحوافز.

لا يشمل الجدول ريتشارد إس فولد جونيور ، الرئيس التنفيذي الذي أدار بنك ليمان براذرز إلى الإفلاس. في شهادته أمام الكونجرس ، قال فولد إن نظام التعويض الذي قدر أنه دفع له حوالي 350 مليون دولار بين عامي 2000 و 2007 حتى مع توجه الشركة نحو كارثة كان مناسبًا.

الأعلى 400

في حين أن تعويضات المسؤولين التنفيذيين قد تكون مفرطة في الولايات المتحدة ، فإن المديرين التنفيذيين المذكورين في هذه المقالة ليسوا من أكبر أصحاب الدخل في الولايات المتحدة. وفق ديفيد كاي جونستون يكتب في محللي الضرائب:

 "في عام 2007 ، كان متوسط ​​دخل أكبر 400 دافع ضرائب 344.8 مليون دولار ، بزيادة 31 في المائة عن متوسط ​​دخلهم البالغ 263.3 مليون دولار في عام 2006. وانخفض معدل ضريبة الدخل الفعلي إلى 16.62 في المائة. معظم الدخل الذي يذهب إلى أعلى 400 عائد ضريبي يأتي من رأس المال. كان أكبر مصدر للدخل هو مكاسب رأس المال. وشكلت المكاسب 66.3 في المائة من دخل عام 2007.

تم نشر التقرير السنوي لأعلى 400 تقرير لأول مرة من قبل إدارة كلينتون ، لكن إدارة جورج دبليو بوش أغلقت الوصول إلى التقرير. تم استئناف إطلاقه قبل عام عندما تولى الرئيس أوباما منصبه. أنشأ قسم إحصاءات الدخل في مصلحة الضرائب الأمريكية أفضل 400 تقرير بناءً على طلب جويل سليمرود ، أستاذ الأعمال في جامعة ميشيغان ".

 في الختام

أقتبس من Richard A. Musgrave ، مرشدي المالي العام المذكور في مقالي الضريبي السابق:

تختلف الفلسفات الاجتماعية أو الميول الشخصية فيما يتعلق بالمساواة أو عدم المساواة. ومع ذلك ، ضمن حدود معينة ، من المحتمل أن توجد في أي وقت ومكان أعراف مقبولة بشكل أو بآخر على نطاق واسع فيما يتعلق ببعض الجوانب الأساسية للمشكلة ".

 لن يعمل هذا إذا لم يتم إبلاغ الجمهور.

حاشية

[1] بانديت منعش بعض الشيء. وقال إنه سيحصل على راتب قدره دولار واحد في السنة ولن يحصل على مكافأة حتى تعود سيتي جروب إلى الربحية. وعلى عكس المصرفيين الآخرين ، راكم بانديت 1 مليون دولار من الأصول من مصرفه.

مقالات ذات صلة

من التحفيز إلى التقشف - أي دور للضرائب؟  بواسطة ElliottMorss

عدم المساواة والنفوذ والأزمات  بواسطة مايكل كونهوف ورومان رانسيير

التقشف بدلا من التحفيز؟ انتظر دقيقة!  بواسطة إليوت مورس

صفقة الشيطان بواسطة William H. Gross

الإقطاعية الجديدة  بواسطة ديريل هيرمانوتس

2 الردود على “هل الجهل نعيم؟ نظرة على عدم المساواة في الدخل في الولايات المتحدة "

  1. سيضيف إلى هذه المناقشة إضافة مقارنات إلى درجات الأجور والتعويضات الإجمالية في القطاعات الأخرى ، بما في ذلك الولاية / المحلية / الاحتياطي الفيدرالي / العسكري.
    آخر سيكون أكاديميًا ، من رواتب طلاب الدراسات العليا إلى المعلمين إلى هيئة التدريس الثابتة ؛
    دخول / المدربين الرياضيين الكبار؟ الرياضيين؟ فنانين آخرين؟

    مثال واحد هنا: http://www.militaryfactory.com/military_pay_scale.asp

    بعد ذلك سيكون من المفيد تتبع الارتباطات بمرور الوقت ؛
    على سبيل المثال ، تتمتع لعبة الهوكي بتصنيف صافي زائد / ناقص لصافي التغيير في نتيجة الفريق أثناء وجود اللاعب في مقابل خارج الجليد ؛

    سيكون من الرائع رؤية تصنيفات زائد / ناقص صافي لشرائح مختلفة خلال سياقات مختلفة ؛ خلال عام 1907؟ الحرب العالمية الأولى؟ هدير العشرينيات؟ إحباط كبير؟ الحرب العالمية الثانية؟ الستينيات والسبعينيات؟ قفزة ريغان العظيمة إلى الوراء؟ مدخرات كلينتون الخاصة غير المتوازنة؟ سرقة دمبيا الملكية؟ أوباما لا يفعل شيئًا؟

  2. روجر:

    كان الغرض من مقالتي هو تسليط الضوء على رواتب المديرين التنفيذيين ، الذين ربما يستحق بعضهم ما يكسبونه ، والبعض الآخر على الأرجح لا يستحقون.

    أعتقد أن مكتب إحصاءات العمل يقدم بيانات عن الرواتب حسب الصناعة.

    في مقال سابق ، ركزت على الفنانين وكذلك المديرين التنفيذيين - http://www.morssglobalfinance.com/paying-people-too-much/

التعليقات مغلقة.

Is Ignorance Bliss? A Look at U.S. Income Inequality


In my last article, I suggested new taxes to close the US government deficit. I also said it is not yet time for austerity: wait for the recovery to gain momentum. I planned to focus in this article on Obama’s plan to impose higher taxes on the wealthy. However, I just learned from an excellent article by G. William Domhoff that most Americans have no idea just how concentrated US wealth distribution actually is. So this article will provide data on income distribution in the US, and I will discuss Obama’s tax proposals in my next piece.     

The Distribution of US Income

Income inequalities are greater in the US than in other developed countries, and they always have been. Americans believe one should receive the “fruits of one’s labor”, with little regard for just how much that might be. The feeling is very different elsewhere. Table 1 provides “Gini Coefficients” for a selection of developed countries. A Gini Coefficient of 0 means everyone earns the same income; a Coefficient of 1 denotes total income inequality. Relative to other developed countries, incomes are unequal in the US.

US income inequalities are growing. Woolff finds that while the incomes of all Americans increased 37.1% since 1983, the incomes of the top 1% increased 127.2%. Domhoff reports: “As of 2007, income inequality in the United States was at an all-time high for the past 95 years, with the top 0.01% — that’s one-hundredth of one percent — receiving 6% of all U.S. wages, which is double what it was for that tiny slice in 2000”.

Aggregate numbers can be overwhelming, so in what follows, I focus on executives: idea/entrepreneur executives, hired hands, and bankers.

Idea/Entrepreneur Executives

These are people with good business ideas. Many of them launched their own companies. It is certainly in the American culture that these people deserve all the “spoils” for the risks they took and the effort they have put in over the years. But even here, perhaps we can see shadings of better and worse. In Table 2, I list a number of these people. The total compensation column gives the cash payment received in 2010. The next four columns provide data on the assets the individual has received from his company. And the final column totals the previous five columns.

There is little to complain about how the top three have handled things. Jobs, Buffet, and Balmer have $1.6 billion, $46.2 billion, and $9.4 billion “in the bank”. Jobs is best: his salary is $1 a year, and the New York Times reported he has made no other claims on Apple – no stock options, no stock awards, no pension, and no deferred compensation. Buffet and Balmer are similar to Jobs in “no other claims”, with Buffet taking a salary of $524,000 and Balmer earning $1.4 million annually. I guess Nordstrom, Tisch, and Schultz, all with more than $100 million in the bank, are a little worried about their finances in retirement. So they take annual salaries of $4.3million, $5.1 million, and $21.7 million, respectively.

The last three, Smith, Marriott, and Ellison, all billionaires, are certainly different than Jobs, Buffet, and Ballmer. Ellison is in a class by himself.

Hired Hands

Let us now look at the “hired hands”. These are not idea people or entrepreneurs. These are the bureaucrats brought in to run companies created and built by others. Why do they make so much? Are they better than others that would cost less? No. “Head hunters” work in collusion with corporate boards. The boards fear they will get in trouble if they make appointments that do not work out. Therefore, the head hunters only suggest people that have been CEOs of other large corporations. And when it comes to compensation, have you noticed that 50% of most annual reports/proxies of large corporations are executive compensation reports written by the head hunters? And when new CEOs are hired, he appoints “his” board members, etc.

You think I am exaggerating? Domhoff quotes Edgar S. Woolard, Jr., a retired CEO of DuPont who is now chair of the New York Stock Exchange’s executive compensation committee: “The compensation committee [of the board of directors] talks to an outside consultant who has surveys you could drive a truck through and pay anything you want to pay, to be perfectly honest. The outside consultant talks to the human resources vice president, who talks to the CEO. The CEO says what he’d like to receive. It gets to the human resources person who tells the outside consultant. And it pretty well works out that the CEO gets what he’s implied he thinks he deserves, so he will be respected by his peers.”

The above are hired hands, all getting salaries of $10 million+ with incentives justified by head hunters and approved by their boards. And how well have these gentlemen done for their companies? Weldon at Johnson & Johnson: how many quality control problems have they had in recent years? McNerney: where is the “Dreamliner”? The final column in Table 3 indicates what these individuals would earn if their assets earned 5% annually. 


The final group I consider are bankers, the CEOs who ran banks that effectively collapsed, pitching the world into the global recession. How are they doing? Table 4 provides the answer. The table is the same as the earlier ones but includes the TARP bailout funds each bank needed as the final right hand column.

With the exception of Pandit[1], nothing has changed for these CEOs. Forget about all the foolish investments and risk taking they supervised, their boards have decided to pay each of them $10 million+ with incentives moving ahead.

The Table does not include Richard S. Fuld, Jr., the CEO who ran Lehman Brothers into bankruptcy. In Congressional testimony, Fuld said a compensation system that he estimated paid him about $350 million between 2000 and 2007 even as the company headed for disaster was appropriate.

The Top 400

While executive compensation might be excessive in the US, the executives covered in this article are not the largest US income earners. According to David Kay Johnston writing in Tax Analysts:

 “In 2007 the top 400 taxpayers had an average income of $344.8 million, up 31 percent from their average $263.3 million income in 2006. Their effective income tax rate fell to 16.62%. Most of the income going to the top 400 tax returns is from capital. The biggest source of income was capital gains. Gains accounted for 66.3 percent of 2007 income.

The annual top 400 report was first made public by the Clinton administration, but the George W. Bush administration shut down access to the report. Its release was resumed a year ago when President Obama took office. The Statistics of Income Division at the IRS created the top 400 reports at the urging of Joel Slemrod, a business professor at the University of Michigan.”


I quote from Richard A. Musgrave, my public finance mentor cited in my prior tax article:

“Social philosophies or personal predilection with regard to equality or inequality differ. Yet within certain limits there is likely to exist at any time and place more or less widely accepted mores with regard to certain basic aspects of the problem.”

 This won’t work if the public is not informed.


[1] Pandit is a bit refreshing. He said he will take a salary of $1 a year and no bonus until Citigroup returns to profitability. And unlike the other bankers, Pandit has accumulated a “measly” $11.7 million in assets from his bank.

Related Articles

From Stimulus to Austerity – What Role for Taxes?  by ElliottMorss

Inequality, Leverage and Crisis  by Michael Kunhof and Romain Ranciere

Austerity Rather than Stimulus?  Wait a Minute!  by Elliott Morss

Devil’s Bargain by William H. Gross

The New Feudalism  by Derryl Hermanutz

Share this Econintersect Article:
  • Print
  • Digg
  • Facebook
  • Yahoo! Buzz
  • Twitter
  • Google Bookmarks
  • LinkedIn
  • Wikio
  • email
  • RSS
This entry was posted in Business News and Analysis, Personal Income and Consumption, Studies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Make a Comment

Econintersect wants your comments, data and opinion on the articles posted.  As the internet is a "war zone" of trolls, hackers and spammers - Econintersect must balance its defences against ease of commenting.  We have joined with Livefyre to manage our comment streams.

To comment, just click the "Sign In" button at the top-left corner of the comment box below. You can create a commenting account using your favorite social network such as Twitter, Facebook, Google+, LinkedIn or Open ID - or open a Livefyre account using your email address.