ديسمبر 2012 استمرار نمو الائتمان الاستهلاكي

كتب بواسطة

قال العنوان:

ارتفع الائتمان الاستهلاكي بمعدل سنوي معدل موسميا قدره 6-1 / 2 في المئة خلال الربع الرابع. لم يتغير الائتمان المتجدد بشكل طفيف ، بينما زاد الائتمان غير المتجدد بمعدل سنوي قدره 9-1 / 2 في المائة. في ديسمبر ، زاد الائتمان الاستهلاكي بمعدل سنوي قدره 6-1 / 4 في المائة.

Econintersect الوجبات الجاهزة من البيانات:

  • ديسمبر 2012 كان الائتمان الاستهلاكي غير المعدل 17.5٪ مدفوعًا بقروض الطلاب. وبعبارة أخرى ، لم يكن التوسع في الائتمان بسبب قروض الطلاب بالكامل هذا الشهر. باستخدام المعدل السنوي المعدل موسمياً والبالغ 7٪ للاحتياطي الفيدرالي ، فهذا يعني أن إجمالي معدل التوسع في الائتمان الاستهلاكي (تجاهل قروض الطلاب) يبلغ حوالي 5.4٪.
  • معدل نمو الائتمان الاستهلاكي على أساس سنوي هو 5.7٪.
  • ينمو استخدام بطاقات الائتمان بشكل هامشي فقط ، لكن النمو في القروض غير المتجددة (السيارات ، القوارب ، المقطورات ، إلخ).

توقعت السوق أن يتوسع الائتمان الاستهلاكي 10.0 دولار إلى 11.9 مليار دولار مقابل المعدل الموسمي توسع 14.6 مليار دولار المبلغ عنها.

لاحظ أن سلسلة بيانات الائتمان الاستهلاكي هذه لا تشمل الرهون العقارية.

يوفر Econintersect يختلف التحليل عن بنك الاحتياطي الفيدرالي على النحو التالي:

  • بذل جهد لفصل قروض الطلاب عن الائتمان الاستهلاكي لمعرفة الديناميكيات الأساسية ؛
  • يتم التعبير عن النمو كتغير سنوي ، وليس تغيير شهر واحد يتم توقعه كتغير سنوي.

القواسم المشتركة بين الاحتياطي الفيدرالي و Econintersect التحليل هو أن الائتمان الاستهلاكي آخذ في التوسع الآن سواء أخذ المرء في الاعتبار قروض الطلاب أم لا. Econintersect لا يعتقد أن طرق التعديل الموسمية المستخدمة في العناوين تنقل الموقف بدقة لمجموعة متنوعة من الأسباب.

وشكلت قروض الطلاب هذا الشهر 17.5٪ من إجمالي القروض الممنوحة. منذ الركود العظيم ، كان جزء كبير من الزيادة في الائتمان الاستهلاكي من قروض الطلاب (جيد مقالة خلفية كتبه فريدريك شيهان). ملاحظة: إذا كان لدى أي قارئ لهذا المنشور مشكلات تتعلق بالمدفوعات أو التخلف عن السداد ، فسيتم تناول بعض الخيارات المتاحة في هذا مقالة نيويورك تايمز. يوضح الرسم البياني التالي التدفق إلى الائتمان الاستهلاكي (بما في ذلك قروض الطلاب) مقابل التدفق إلى قروض الطلاب وحدها. عندما يكون الخط الأحمر في الرسم البياني أدناه فوق الخط الأزرق - تمثل قروض الطلاب كل نمو الائتمان.

تدفق الأموال إلى الائتمان الاستهلاكي - إجمالي الائتمان الاستهلاكي (الخط الأزرق) مقابل قروض الطلاب (الخط الأحمر)

هناك طريقة أخرى لعرض تأثيرات قروض الطلاب على الائتمان الاستهلاكي وهي عرض النمو السنوي بمليارات الدولارات في إجمالي الائتمان الاستهلاكي (بما في ذلك قروض الطلاب) ، وقروض الطلاب وحدها. باختصار ، شكلت قروض الطلاب جميع نمو الائتمان الاستهلاكي من عام 2009 إلى أواخر عام 2011. حاليًا ، يتوافق معدل خط الاتجاه للنمو (الخط الأزرق في الرسم البياني أدناه) مع معدل النمو قبل عام 2007.

النمو السنوي بمليارات الدولارات - إجمالي الائتمان الاستهلاكي (الخط الأزرق) مقابل قروض الطلاب (الخط الأحمر)

وإلقاء نظرة أخيرة على إجمالي الائتمان الاستهلاكي وتأثير قروض الطلاب. يزيل الرسم البياني أدناه قروض الطلاب من إجمالي الائتمان الاستهلاكي المستحق.

إجمالي الائتمان الاستهلاكي المستحق - إجمالي الائتمان الاستهلاكي (الخط الأزرق) مقابل إجمالي الائتمان الاستهلاكي بدون قروض الطلاب (الخط الأحمر)

Econintersect يقضي الوقت في سلسلة البيانات هذه التي يتم تجاهلها بشكل عام لأن الولايات المتحدة هي اقتصاد يحركه المستهلك. كانت إحدى الظواهر الطبيعية الجديدة هي تحول المستهلك من الائتمان إلى المجتمع النقدي - وهو تحول كمي يغير مقدار الاستهلاك. توفر مراقبة الائتمان الاستهلاكي تأكيدًا على استمرار هذا التحول الطبيعي الجديد.

نمو الائتمان الاستهلاكي على أساس سنوي - الإجمالي (الخط الأزرق) ، والائتمان المتجدد (الخط الأحمر) ، والائتمان غير المتجدد (الخط الأخضر الذي يشمل قروض الطلاب)

تقارير الاحتياطي الفيدرالي الائتمان مقسمة بين الدورية وغير الدورية. تأتي غالبية الائتمان المتجدد من بطاقات الائتمان ، بينما يشمل الائتمان غير المتجدد قروض السيارات وقروض الطلاب وجميع القروض الأخرى غير المدرجة في الائتمان المتجدد ، مثل قروض المنازل المتنقلة أو القوارب أو المقطورات أو الإجازات.

إجمالي الائتمان المتجدد للمقارنة (الخط الأزرق) إلى إجمالي الائتمان المتجدد (الخط الأحمر)

بيانات ائتمان المستهلك الأخرى من خارج هذا التقرير:

يبقى السؤال حول معدل التخفيضات في القروض الاستهلاكية. الرسم البياني التالي يعالج هذا السؤال:

صافي التخفيضات على الائتمان الاستهلاكي

يتناول الرسم البياني التالي مسألة خسائر القروض من قبل البنوك:

صافي خسائر القروض المصرفية - النسبة المئوية من إجمالي القروض

هذا الإفراج عن الائتمان الاستهلاكي لا يشمل الرهون العقارية. هذا ما يبدو عليه إجمالي ديون الأسرة. يرجى ملاحظة أن بيانات الرهن العقاري ليست حديثة مثل بيانات ائتمان المستهلك في هذا المنشور.

إجمالي ديون الأسرة (بما في ذلك الخط الأزرق للرهون العقارية) والرهون العقارية (الخط الأحمر) وائتمان المستهلك الذي تحدثنا عنه في هذا المنشور (الخط الأخضر)

وللتأكد فقط من انتقال البيانات الواردة في تقرير ائتمان المستهلك إلى تقارير أخرى ، يوجد هنا رسم بياني من Z.1 Flow of Funds.

إجمالي الائتمان الاستهلاكي المستحق من تدفق الأموال Z.1

محاذير بشأن استخدام الائتمان الاستهلاكي

سلسلة البيانات هذه لا تشمل الرهون العقارية ، ولا يتم تعديل التضخم. خضعت هذه السلسلة بأكملها لمراجعة كبيرة في أبريل 2012 خبر صحفى:

أعلن مجلس الاحتياطي الفيدرالي يوم الاثنين أنه أعاد هيكلة البيان الإحصائي G.19 ، ائتمان المستهلك ، ليعكس تغييرات الإيداع التنظيمي لمؤسسات الإيداع المعتمدة في الولايات المتحدة ، بالإضافة إلى البيانات المبلغ عنها حاليًا حول مستوى الائتمان المستحق ، سيصدر الإصدار أبلغ الآن عن بيانات حول تدفق الائتمان. وستتاح البيانات المنقحة مع إصدار تقرير أبريل يوم الخميس 7 يونيو.

تقدم مؤسسات الادخار الآن نفس التقرير التنظيمي مثل البنوك التجارية المستأجرة من الولايات المتحدة. تم دمج قطاع البنوك التجارية المعتمدة من الولايات المتحدة وقطاع مؤسسات الادخار ، اللذان تم عرضهما بشكل منفصل في السابق ، في قطاع جديد يسمى مؤسسات الإيداع. ستظل السلسلة المنشورة سابقًا للبنوك التجارية ومؤسسات الادخار المستأجرة من الولايات المتحدة متاحة كسلسلة منفصلة في برنامج تنزيل البيانات لمجلس الاحتياطي الفيدرالي (DDP).

تمثل بيانات التدفق الجديدة التغييرات في مستوى الائتمان بسبب النشاط الاقتصادي والمالي ، بدلاً من الانقطاعات في سلسلة البيانات بسبب التغيرات في المنهجية وبيانات المصدر والجوانب الفنية الأخرى للتقدير التي تؤثر على مستوى الائتمان. يتيح الوصول إلى بيانات التدفق للمستخدمين حساب معدل نمو لائتمان المستهلك الذي يستبعد مثل هذه الفواصل.

وستكون هذه التغييرات مصحوبة بمراجعات لتقديرات الائتمان الاستهلاكي القائم منذ يناير 2006 وتعكس التحسينات في المنهجية ومراجعة شاملة لبيانات المصدر.

يوضح الرسم البياني أدناه أن الائتمان الاستهلاكي المعلق (لا تتضمن سلسلة البيانات هذه الرهون العقارية) أقل بقليل من 23٪ من الإنفاق الاستهلاكي السنوي - انخفاضًا من أعلى مستوى له يزيد عن 26٪ في العقد الأول من القرن الحادي والعشرين ، ولكنه لا يزال أعلى من المتوسطات قبل منتصف التسعينيات.

نسبة إجمالي القروض الاستهلاكية غير المسددة إلى إنفاق المستهلك

للتعرف على الائتمان الاستهلاكي المعدل حسب التضخم ، فإن الرسم البياني التالي هو الائتمان الاستهلاكي المعدل بالتضخم باستخدام CPI-U (أقل مأوى) - وهذا يعبر عن الائتمان الاستهلاكي بدولارات 1982. من الواضح على أساس معدل التضخم ، أن الائتمان الاستهلاكي بدأ في النمو.

ائتمان المستهلك المعدل للتضخم

أيضًا ، رسم بياني مثير للاهتمام يوضح نسبة المستهلك من الأصول السائلة إلى إجمالي المطلوبات - لست متأكدًا مما يمكن أن يكون ضمنيًا باستثناء أنه من الواضح أن إلغاء الرافعة المالية يجري على قدم وساق. نظرًا لأن متوسط ​​Joe Sixpack لديه القليل من المدخرات أو الأصول السائلة الأخرى ، يمكننا أن نفترض أن هذا الرسم ينطبق على النصف العلوي من سكان الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية.

نسبة الأصول السائلة الاستهلاكية إلى إجمالي مطلوبات المستهلك

Econintersect يعتقد أن مستويات الائتمان الاستهلاكي الآن في قناتها التاريخية منذ التسعينيات.

مقالات ذات صلة

جميع منشورات ائتمان المستهلك

[iframe src = ”http://econintersect.com/authors/author.htm؟author=/home/aleta/public_html/authors/s_hansen.htm” width = ”600 ″ height =” 500 ″ frameborder = ”0 ″ التمرير = "لا"]

>

December 2012 Consumer Credit Growth Continues

Written by

The headline said:

Consumer credit increased at a seasonally adjusted annual rate of 6-1/2 percent during the fourth quarter. Revolving credit was little changed, while nonrevolving credit increased at an annual rate of 9-1/2 percent. In December, consumer credit increased at an annual rate of 6-1/4 percent.

Econintersect takeaway from the data:

  • December 2012 unadjusted consumer credit was 17.5% driven by student loans. In other words credit expansion was not due entirely to student loans this month.  Using the Fed’s 7% seasonally adjusted annual rate, it means that total consumer credit expansion rate (ignoring student loans) is approximately 5.4%.
  • The year-over-year consumer credit growth rate is 5.7%.
  • Credit Card usage is growing only marginally, but the growth is in non-revolving loans (cars, boats, trailers, etc).

The market expected consumer credit to expand $10.0 to $11.9 billion versus the seasonally adjusted expansion of $14.6 billion reported.

Note that this consumer credit data series does not include mortgages.

The Econintersect analysis is different than the Fed as follows:

  • an effort is made to segregate student loans from consumer credit to see the underlying dynamics;
  • the growth is expressed as year-over-year change, not one month’s change being projected as an annual change.

The commonality between the Fed and Econintersect analysis is that consumer credit is now expanding whether one considers student loans or not. Econintersect does not believe the seasonal adjustment methods used in the headlines are accurately conveying the situation for a variety of reasons.

This month student loans accounted for 17.5% of the total loans issued. Since the Great Recession, much of the increase in consumer credit is from student loans (A good background article was written by Frederick Sheehan). Note: If any reader of this post has issues with payments or default, some of your options available are addressed in this NYT article. The following graph shows the flow into consumer credit (including student loans) against the flow into student loans alone. Whenever the red line in the graph below is above the blue line – student loans account for all the credit growth.

Flow of Funds into Consumer Credit – Total Consumer Credit (blue line) vs Student Loans (red line)

Another way to view the effects of student loans on consumer credit is to view year-over-year growth in $ billions into total consumer credit (including student loans), and student loans alone. In short, student loans accounted for all consumer credit growth from 2009 to late 2011. Currently, the trend line rate of growth (blue line in graph below) is consistent with the pre-2007 rate of growth.

Year-over-Year Growth in $ Billions – Total Consumer Credit (blue line) vs Student Loans (red line)

And one final look at total consumer credit and the effect of student loans. The graph below removes student loans from total consumer credit outstanding.

Total Consumer Credit Outstanding – Total Consumer Credit (blue line) vs Total Consumer Credit without Student Loans (red line)

Econintersect spends time on this generally ignored data series because the USA is a consumer driven economy. One New Normal phenomenon has been the consumer shift from a credit towards a cash society – a quantum shift which changes the amount of consumption. Watching consumer credit provides confirmation that this New Normal shift continues.

Year-over-Year Growth of Consumer Credit – Total (blue line), Revolving Credit (red line), and Non-Revolving (green line which includes student loans)

The Federal Reserve reports credit divided between revolving and non-revolving. The majority of revolving credit is from credit cards, while non-revolving credit includes automobile loans, student loans, and all other loans not included in revolving credit, such as loans for mobile homes, boats, trailers, or vacations.

Comparison Revolving Credit Total (blue line) to Non-Revolving Credit Total (red line)

Other Consumer Credit Data from Outside this Report:

The question remains on the rate of write-downs of consumer loans. The following graph addresses this question:

Net Charge-Offs on Consumer Credit

The next graph addresses the question of loan losses by the banks:

Bank Net Loan Losses – Percent of Total Loans

This consumer credit release does not include mortgages. Here is what total household debt looks like. Please note that the mortgage data is not as current as the consumer credit data in this post.

Total Household Debt (includes mortgages blue line), mortgages (red line), and Consumer Credit talked about in this post (green line)

And just to make sure the data in the consumer credit report migrates to other reports, here is a graph from Z.1 Flow of Funds.

Total Consumer Credit Outstanding from Flow of Funds Z.1

Caveats on the Use of Consumer Credit

This data series does not include mortgages, and is not inflation adjusted. This whole series has undergone a major revision with the April 2012 Press Release:

The Federal Reserve Board on Monday announced that it has restructured the G.19 statistical release, Consumer Credit, to reflect regulatory filing changes for U.S.-chartered depository institutions and, in addition to the data currently reported on level of credit outstanding, the release will now report data on the flow of credit. The revised data will be made available with the release of the April report on Thursday, June 7.

Savings institutions now file the same regulatory report as U.S.-chartered commercial banks. The U.S.-chartered commercial banks sector and the savings institution sector, which were previously shown separately, have been combined into a new sector called depository institutions. The previously published series for U.S.-chartered commercial banks and savings institutions will continue to be available as separate series in the Federal Reserve’s Data Download Program (DDP).

The new flow data represent changes in the level of credit due to economic and financial activity, rather than breaks in the data series due to changes in methodology, source data, and other technical aspects of the estimation that affect the level of credit. Access to flow data allows users to calculate a growth rate for consumer credit that excludes such breaks.

These changes will be accompanied by revisions to the estimates of outstanding consumer credit back to January 2006 and reflect improvements in methodology and a comprehensive review of the source data.

The graph below shows consumer credit outstanding (this data series does not include mortgages) is slightly less than 23% of annualized consumer spending – down from a high of over 26% in the 2000s, but still above the averages before the mid 1990s.

Ratio of Total Consumer Loans Outstanding to Consumer Spending

To get a feel of inflation adjusted consumer credit, the following graph is inflation adjusted consumer credit using the CPI-U (less shelter) – this is expressing consumer credit in 1982 dollars. It is evident on an inflation adjusted basis, consumer credit is beginning to grow.

Inflation Adjusted Consumer Credit

Also, an interesting graphic showing the consumer’s ratio of liquid assets to total liabilities – I am not sure what can be implied except that it is evident that de-leveraging is well underway. As the average Joe Sixpack has little savings or other liquid assets, we can assume this graphic applies to the upper half of the USA population.

Ratio of Consumer Liquid Assets to Total Consumer Liabilities

Econintersect believes consumer credit levels are now in its historical channel from the 1990′s.

Related Articles

All Consumer Credit Posts

Share this Econintersect Article:
  • Print
  • Digg
  • Facebook
  • Yahoo! Buzz
  • Twitter
  • Google Bookmarks
  • LinkedIn
  • Wikio
  • email
  • RSS
This entry was posted in Consumer Credit, aa syndication and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.










Make a Comment

Econintersect wants your comments, data and opinion on the articles posted.  As the internet is a "war zone" of trolls, hackers and spammers - Econintersect must balance its defences against ease of commenting.  We have joined with Livefyre to manage our comment streams.

To comment, just click the "Sign In" button at the top-left corner of the comment box below. You can create a commenting account using your favorite social network such as Twitter, Facebook, Google+, LinkedIn or Open ID - or open a Livefyre account using your email address.