econintersect.com
       
  

FREE NEWSLETTER: Econintersect sends a nightly newsletter highlighting news events of the day, and providing a summary of new articles posted on the website. Econintersect will not sell or pass your email address to others per our privacy policy. You can cancel this subscription at any time by selecting the unsubscribing link in the footer of each email.



posted on 03 February 2016

How The Troika Effect Was Dubbed The Varoufakis Effect

by Yanis Varoufakis

As part of an impressive campaign to discredit the Athens Spring, and those of us who continue to honor and propagate its spirit, a cabal of journalists and 'analysts' have joined forces to depict me as the "destroyer of the Greek economy". The purpose? To demonize the Greek people's audacity to elect us with a mandate to oppose the Troika in the Spring and early summer of 2015, when they backed our stance with that magnificent 62% NO vote.

Their hideous campaign was summed up recently in the so called 'Varoufakis Effect' argument, by Berenberg's Chief Economist, a Mr Schmieding. Using a chart that 'shows' business confidence to have collapsed during the days of my tenure in the ministry of finance (first half of 2015), he pinned on me Greece's woes. Naturally, the troika's Greek cheerleaders, with newspaper TO VIMA at the forefront, grabbed the opportunity to jeer and snarl. Except that they were caught with the smoking gun in their hands...

In response to Mr Schmieding's piece, I wrote this article in Project Syndicate. Its gist? That the Greek economy was damaged purposely by a Troika intent on punishing Greek voters for having elected us to challenge the Troika's failed policies. Mr Schmieding simply laundered the Troika Effect as a 'Varoufakis Effect', using the following chart.

Screen Shot 2016-01-28 at 16.42.17.png

However, the story does not end here. Following the publication of my Project Syndicate article, various readers were kind enough to point out that the chart Mr Schmieding used to found his 'Varoufakis Effect' hypothesis was, in fact, doctored. The original chart (published here) - and reproduced below for convenience - shows clearly that business confidence took a major dive at the end of 2014, well before the general election and my appointment as minister of finance. And that it rebounded not when I left office (in July 2015) but before my appointment in early January 2015 (see diagram below).

BERENBERG-ΒΗΜΑ re-engineered graph ORIGINAL SOOURCE

Miraculously, in the chart that Mr Schmieding included in his letter to his investors, the horizontal axis was 'stretched' (compare the two graphs above) to show that business appeared to lose its mojo well into 2015, during my period in office.

The point I made in my Project Syndicate article that investors have much to fear from analysts like Mr Schmieding, could not have been better illustrated...

>>>>> Scroll down to view and make comments <<<<<<

Click here for Historical Opinion Post Listing










Make a Comment

Econintersect wants your comments, data and opinion on the articles posted. You can also comment using Facebook directly using he comment block below.




Econintersect Opinion


search_box

Print this page or create a PDF file of this page
Print Friendly and PDF


The growing use of ad blocking software is creating a shortfall in covering our fixed expenses. Please consider a donation to Econintersect to allow continuing output of quality and balanced financial and economic news and analysis.


Take a look at what is going on inside of Econintersect.com
Main Home
Analysis Blog
The Job Guarantee, Wage-Price Inflation And Alternative Solutions: Part 2
Angst in America, Part 1: Aimless Men
News Blog
What We Read Today 22 March 2017
February 2017 Headline Existing Home Growth Pace Slows
Trucking Data Mixed In February 2017
A Physical Therapist Explains The Best Time To Stretch
Bank Supervision And The Central Bank: An Integrated Mission
How Might Changes In Federal Policies Boost Innovation And Productivity?
Gauging Firm Optimism In A Time Of Transition
Infographic Of The Day: The Global War On Cash
Early Headlines: Asia Stocks Down, Dollar Down, Oil, Gold Flat, GOP Health Care, NASA Funded, EU Depressions, Brexit Fin Service Moves, Japan Exports Surge, Brazil's Bad Meat And More
Ancient Rome vs. Ancient China
John Stuart Mill In 1848: Tax Driven Money
Pros And Cons Of The Gig Economy
Which Is Deadlier - Herbal Remedies Or Conventional Medicines?
Investing Blog
Bull Market Still Intact ... For Now
Investing.com Technical Summary 20 March 2017
Opinion Blog
Economics Isn't Ideology-free And It's Misleading To Suggest It Is
How Human Rights Law Has Been Used To Guarantee Corporations A 'Right To Profit'
Precious Metals Blog
These Gold Stocks Will Produce Much Bigger Gains Than Gold Itself
Live Markets
22Mar2017 Market Close: Stocks Closed Mixed, Oil Continues Decline, And Gold Trends Higher As The Dollar Index Remains Under 100
Amazon Books & More






.... and keep up with economic news using our dynamic economic newspapers with the largest international coverage on the internet
Asia / Pacific
Europe
Middle East / Africa
Americas
USA Government































 navigate econintersect.com

Blogs

Analysis Blog
News Blog
Investing Blog
Opinion Blog
Precious Metals Blog
Markets Blog
Video of the Day
Weather

Newspapers

Asia / Pacific
Europe
Middle East / Africa
Americas
USA Government
     

RSS Feeds / Social Media

Combined Econintersect Feed
Google+
Facebook
Twitter
Digg

Free Newsletter

Marketplace - Books & More

Economic Forecast

Content Contribution

Contact

About

  Top Economics Site

Investing.com Contributor TalkMarkets Contributor Finance Blogs Free PageRank Checker Active Search Results Google+

This Web Page by Steven Hansen ---- Copyright 2010 - 2017 Econintersect LLC - all rights reserved