econintersect.com
       
  

FREE NEWSLETTER: Econintersect sends a nightly newsletter highlighting news events of the day, and providing a summary of new articles posted on the website. Econintersect will not sell or pass your email address to others per our privacy policy. You can cancel this subscription at any time by selecting the unsubscribing link in the footer of each email.



posted on 22 December 2015

My Vote For Person Of 2015

by Yanis Varoufakis

We are in the silly season of incessant list compilations - best movie of the year, worst dressed culture minister of the year, etc. Nonetheless, these rankings appeal to us because there is something to be said about looking back and taking stock. TIME magazine's selection of Chancellor Merkel as its Person of the Year generated much debate.

It also generated many questions to me, from journalists the world over, on what I thought of Mrs Merkel's selection and whom I would have voted for.

So, here is my answer:

Mrs Merkel deserves a great deal of acclaim for her principled stance on Syrian refugees. On the other hand, she has failed to show leadership in bringing Europe out of its denial regarding the unsustainable Euro Area architecture - a denial that has necessitated a coup against Greece's democracy, a third (non-viable) Greek loan agreement, and a new chapter in Europe's slide into reckless authoritarianism.

Whom would I nominate for Person of Year? My vote goes to Nalin Afrin (real name Mayssa Abdo), the woman who has been leading the resistance against ISIS in the Kurdish besieged city of Kobani.

Screen Shot 2015-12-21 at 09.20.52.png

>>>>> Scroll down to view and make comments <<<<<<

Click here for Historical Opinion Post Listing










Make a Comment

Econintersect wants your comments, data and opinion on the articles posted. You can also comment using Facebook directly using he comment block below.




Econintersect Opinion


search_box

Print this page or create a PDF file of this page
Print Friendly and PDF


The growing use of ad blocking software is creating a shortfall in covering our fixed expenses. Please consider a donation to Econintersect to allow continuing output of quality and balanced financial and economic news and analysis.


Take a look at what is going on inside of Econintersect.com
Main Home
Analysis Blog
Why Long-Run Theories of Profit and Accumulation Fall Short
Brexit - Who Wins and Loses
News Blog
Best And Worst States To Retire In The United States
April 2017 Texas Manufacturing Survey Continues to Expand
March 2017 CFNAI Super Index Moving Average Declined
What Is The Informal Labor Market?
Changes In Labor Force Participation
Infographic Of The Day: 10 Habits Of Millionaires For Building Wealth
Early Headlines: Asia Stocks Mostly Up, China Down, Dollar And Oil Up, Gold Down, European Stocks Open Up, 2nd SCOTUS Seat For Trump?, SCOTUS Gets Gerrymander, UK Has Huge Gender Pay Gaps, And More
Most Read Articles Last Week Ending 22 April
GOP Healthcare Plan Would Cost The Poor And Old The Most
These Amazing Creative Animals Show Why Humans Are The Most Innovative Species Of All
Earnings And Economic Reports: Week Starting 24 April 2017
What Americans Think About Climate Change
What We Read Today 23 April 2017 - Special Public Edition
Investing Blog
Market And Sector Analysis 23 April 2017
Markets Rally As Expected
Opinion Blog
America's Gilded Age 2: On The Rocks
What Does The Strong Q1 Growth Mean For China?
Precious Metals Blog
Three Gold Plays For The New Era Of Chaos
Live Markets
24Apr2017 Market Update: DOW Up Triple Digits, WTI Crude Trading In The Low 49's, US Markets Trading Mostly Sideways, US Dollar In The High 98's
Amazon Books & More






.... and keep up with economic news using our dynamic economic newspapers with the largest international coverage on the internet
Asia / Pacific
Europe
Middle East / Africa
Americas
USA Government































 navigate econintersect.com

Blogs

Analysis Blog
News Blog
Investing Blog
Opinion Blog
Precious Metals Blog
Markets Blog
Video of the Day
Weather

Newspapers

Asia / Pacific
Europe
Middle East / Africa
Americas
USA Government
     

RSS Feeds / Social Media

Combined Econintersect Feed
Google+
Facebook
Twitter
Digg

Free Newsletter

Marketplace - Books & More

Economic Forecast

Content Contribution

Contact

About

  Top Economics Site

Investing.com Contributor TalkMarkets Contributor Finance Blogs Free PageRank Checker Active Search Results Google+

This Web Page by Steven Hansen ---- Copyright 2010 - 2017 Econintersect LLC - all rights reserved