Cristiano Ronaldo Wins His Second Ballon d’Or

January 20th, 2014
in News, econ_news, syndication

from Felix Richter,
by Niall McCarthy

Cristiano Ronaldo has warded off competition from Lionel Messi and Franck Ribéry to win his second Ballon d’Or.

Follow up:

The Portuguese player came first with 1,365 points, ahead of Messi with 1,205 after votes were cast by 173 members of the global media, 184 coaches and 184 national captains.

Messi had won the Ballon d’Or for the last 4 consecutive years, more than any other player in history. The original award was also known as the European Footballer of the Year award and this was merged with the men’s World Player of the Year Award in 2010.

Before this merge occurred, Johan Cruyff, Michel Platini and Marco Van Basten each won the original award three times. Up until 1995, journalists could only vote for European players at European clubs, meaning great players like Pelé and Maradona were excluded.

Infographic: Cristiano Ronaldo Wins His Second Ballon d’Or | Statista
You will find more statistics at Statista



Make a Comment

Econintersect wants your comments, data and opinion on the articles posted. You can also comment using Facebook directly using he comment block below.



Analysis Blog
News Blog
Investing Blog
Opinion Blog
Precious Metals Blog
Markets Blog
Video of the Day


Asia / Pacific
Middle East / Africa
USA Government

RSS Feeds / Social Media

Combined Econintersect Feed

Free Newsletter

Marketplace - Books & More

Economic Forecast

Content Contribution



  Top Economics Site Contributor TalkMarkets Contributor Finance Blogs Free PageRank Checker Active Search Results Google+

This Web Page by Steven Hansen ---- Copyright 2010 - 2018 Econintersect LLC - all rights reserved